top of page

Sliwa

Updated: Jan 5, 2022

"A new Ulysses leaves once more" (Shelley)



I'd love to conquer and upend, even snare the beasts of the city. But it's

not going to be comfortably or conformably done.

Not by me.


And because I can't have --certainly were I there--so much as poked

in all this borough garbage on my own, I'd need him!

Of course.


And were I young enough to go, marched forwardly in a red beret & T-shirt,

I'd only sniff out the piss & stains like a dog,


(fluorescent floods above and grubs below!) & tramp the choked

rails, even by chance stumble into the jaws


of all the oppressors who mass at the exits (predatory to a person!)

Even then I'd never cast them out, not


like this round-cheeked Ulysses could who'd easily drag me into his slime

of troubles, also too old & stiff to do it alone,



161 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page