top of page

Track and Field

Updated: Nov 28, 2021

(I reflect back on things that always used to distract me from my Track and Field duties like neighbouring forests, birds & escarpments)

-------------

In adjacent fields (just to tantalize me!) trails hatched with bronze under a fresh sky A light-tipped sycamore tree with squalling chicks in its teeth-- no disk anywhere to match it for spin! Mostly unseen in the forest, look, and lush still even when the winds pick up-- nests drop like 1st- place ribbons At the fence, the bee's sadly unseeded who's both inside (here with me) and out there, ready to die sunless--

(like all the poor unobservant) For all it coveted was glory by the high jump bed, here with me--the poor erratic bee My head up, reverentially, with both eyes shaded over in the insidious glare-- at 50 meters, geese jackknife in the wind! and just like light, wind & a leaf tossing evenly over its surface (stem subject to resistance!)-- dragonflies in the water pit And, I reckoned, down some escarpment (excluding the odd hatchling nosed out) is the mole's last jump,

among a millennia of slimy run-off

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page