top of page

Dante

Updated: Nov 19, 2020

My translation of the opening two of Dante's Vita Nuova Rime relies rather extensively on the excellent textual notes found in Fredi Chiappelli's edition of Dante's Vita Nuova Rime (U. Mursia & C., Milano:1965-73). It's sometimes necessary to give the 'sense' (sentenzia) of a passage where the convoluted Italian syntax of the original would make a literal translation look very awkward. For example, the opening line of Part II, Nove fiate già appresso lo mio nascimento era tornato lo cielo de la luce quasi a uno medesimo punto, quanto a la sua propria girazione, can simply be translated as "I was nine years old" without having to equate the narrator's age with the "Nine times the celestial light [of the sun] had made its customary return to the same point" in its yearly journey. The meticulous attention to planetary motion (even going so far as to give the "twelfth part of a degree"of celestial distance) is, of course, Dante's way to introduce Beatri as a figure of almost heavenly progeny.


 In any event, I tried to maintain a balance between readability and faithfulness to Dante's own poetic conceits. The reader can check my translation against the original text which accompanies it. As I said, I haven't always given a literal translation, trusting instead to a kind of language intuitiveness I guess I enjoy as an Italo-Canadian reader. Suggestions for improvement are welcome.

I. In quella parte del libro de la mia memoria, dinanzi a la quale poco si potrebbe leggere, si trova una rubrica la quale dice: Incipit vita nova. Sotto la quale rubrica io trovo scritte le parole le quali è mio intendimento d'asemplare in questo libello; e se non tutte, almeno la loro sentenzia.

_____________________________

In my book of memory, the little of it I could decipher, there appears a heading which reads: Incipit vita nova ("A new life begins"). Under it I've found words it will be my task to record in this book: if not all of them, at least a significant sense of the whole.


II. [I] Nove fiate già appresso lo mio nascimento era tornato lo cielo de la luce quasi a uno medesimo punto, quanto a la sua propria girazione, quando a li miei occhi apparve prima la gloriosa donna de la mia mente, la quale fu chiamata da molti Beatrice, li quali non sapeano che si chiamare. Ella era in questa vita già stata tanto, che ne lo suo tempo lo cielo stellato era mosso verso la parte d'oriente de le dodici parti l'una d'un grado, sì che quasi dal principio del suo anno nono apparve a me, ed io la vidi quasi da la fine del mio nono. Apparve vestita di nobilissimo colore, umile ed onesto, sanguigno, cinta e ornata a la guisa che a la sua giovanissima etade si convenia. In quello punto dico veracemente che lo spirito de la vita, lo quale dimora ne la secretissima camera de lo cuore, cominciò a tremare sigrave; fortemente che apparia ne li menimi polsi orribilmente; e tremando, disse queste parole: "Ecce deus fortior me, qui veniens dominabitur mihi". In quello punto lo spirito animale, lo quale dimora ne l'alta camera ne la quale tutti li spiriti sensitivi portano le loro percezioni, si cominciò a maravigliare molto, e parlando spezialmente a li spiriti del viso, sì disse queste parole: "Apparuit iam beatitudo vestra". In quello punto lo spirito naturale, lo quale dimora in quella parte ove si ministra lo nutrimento nostro, cominciò a piangere, e piangendo, disse queste parole: "Heu miser, quia frequenter impeditus ero deinceps!". D'allora innanzi dico che Amore segnoreggiò la mia anima, la quale fu sì tosto a lui disponsata, e cominciò a prendere sopra me tanta sicurtade e tanta signoria per la vertù che li dava la mia imaginazione, che me convenia fare tutti li suoi piaceri compiutamente. Elli mi comandava molte volte che io cercasse per vedere questa angiola giovanissima; onde io ne la mia puerizia molte volte l'andai cercando, e vedeala di sì nobili e laudabili portamenti, che certo di lei si potea dire quella parola del poeta Omero: Ella non parea figliuola d'uomo mortale, ma di Deo. E avegna che la sua imagine, la quale continuamente meco stava, fosse baldanza d'Amore a segnoreggiare me, tuttavia era di sì nobilissima vertù, che nulla volta sofferse che Amore mi reggesse sanza lo fedele consiglio de la ragione in quelle cose là ove cotale consiglio fosse utile a udire. E però che soprastare a le passioni e atti di tanta gioventudine pare alcuno parlare fabuloso, mi partirò da esse; e trapassando molte cose, le quali si potrebbero trarre de l'esemplo onde nascono queste, verrò a quelle parole le quali sono scritte ne la mia memoria sotto maggiori paragrafi.

_____________________________________

I was nine when the glorious lady of my mind first appeared to my eyes, called Beatrice by many, even by those who hadn't known the significance of that name. She'd already lived as long as it takes the starry heavens to move a twelfth of a degree towards the East every hundred years so that she was barely nine when she appeared, and I had almost reached the end of my ninth year. She came clothed in the most noble vestments, pure and honest, in red, fully apparelled in a style that suited her very young age. At that very moment the vital spirit, that which resides in the heart's most secret corner, began to shake violently (I felt it in my entire being!), and shaking, it uttered the following words: Ecce deus fortior me, qui veniens dominabitur mihi ("Behold! a God strong than I am coming to rule over me!"). Then the animal spirit, that which resides in the brain, stood amazed, and addressing especially the spirits of sight, said: Apparuit iam beatitudo vestra ("Now your blessedness appears"). At that moment the vegetative spirit, that which attends to our very sustenance, began to cry, and crying said: Heu miser, quia frequenter impeditus ero deinceps! ("Ah me! since from this moment onwards I will be often assailed!) From that very moment I say Love ruled over my very soul, wed to him at once, and began to acquire over me such certainty and authority, through the power my imagination gave him, that I was obliged to carry out his every wish. He often enjoined me to seek out this youngest of angels so that in my innocence I often went in search of her, and found her to be so noble and praiseworthy that I could easily apply the words of the poet Homer to her: "She was the offspring not of mortal man but of God". And it happened that her image, from which I never strayed, was Love's own self-assured way to control me yet nevertheless it was of such a noble virtue that Love could never sway me without my also following reason's faithful counsel in those things where reason ought most to be heard. And because to treat of youthful passions and acts may seem unbelievable to some, I will leave them; and passing over many things that could also be derived from the same origin as these, I will attend to words inscribed in my memory under more important headings.

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page